So, Millennials are the “useless” generation?

I think it’s weird that there’s a word that supposedly defines our whole generation. And I don’t have a problem with people using the word for me and my entire generation.

What I do have a problem with is the way people use< that word. Specifically, when people use it to describe someone who is willfully unemployed and completely unmotivated to fix their situation.

For the record, yes, I am currently unemployed. But at no point did I choose to be. I also wouldn’t describe myself as unmotivated.

A year ago, I made the decision to go to pastry school. And I worked my ass off to make it through and graduate with my class.

Since I started pastry school, I’ve been applying for jobs every day. Scouring job boards and going door to door. I’ve given my resume to nearly every company in my city.

And before you say it, no, I’m not limiting the search to bakeries and restaurants. I’ve also applied to retail, fast food, and office positions.

Many of my friends are unemployed as well. They’re also doing anything they can to change their situation. And guess what? We’re all “Millennials”

Does that sound unmotivated to you?

Leave a Reply

