What makes a “real” writer

“Am I a ‘real’ writer?”

It’s a question I ask myself every so often, particularly when I’m procrastinating instead of working on my writing. I ask myself this because I’m not technically a published writer. Sure, I do this blog, and I’m on a ton of writing sites. I certainly wear the costume of a writer. But I’ve never had my work featured in a newspaper or a magazine. And I’ve never written a published novel. But does that matter?

I’ve always written. From the time I could comprehend a narrative, I’ve made an effort to create one of my own. As I child I mimicked the work of Shel Silverstein. And as a teen, I wrote poetry in the style of Emily Dickinson. I’ve always wanted to be in the shoes of great writers; to walk their path and inspire the world with my imagination.

I believe that, and not notability, is what makes a “real” writer. It takes courage to put your thoughts on a page, even if there’s no one to see it. Because there’s always that nagging voice in your head that tells you that no one wants to read your story. A writer chooses not to listen to that voice. They will find their words and make them real. It doesn’t matter who reads the story as long as it’s written.

Leave a Reply

