Movie review: All The Boys Love Mandy Lane

As usual, I have not gotten a wink of sleep, so I decided to watch a film that’s been catching my eye on Netflix for a few months. And, again you all know the title, but I’m gonna say it. That film was All the Boys Love Mandy Lane.

This film stars Amber Heard, who has been on my watchlist for a while. She’s a decent actress who happens to be gorgeous (and shares my birthday, so bonus.) and I’ve liked pretty much everything I’ve seen her in, and this is no exception. It’s a slasher with a retro feel, which I loved. There are a few problems with this, however.

For one, there is a twist ending to this movie which has be done to death, but that’s not really the problem with it. I didn’t see the twist coming, so it surprised me, but for the most part I was confused. Usually twists have some sort of buildup or foreshadowing, or motivation. This one lacked all three, unless they were too subtle for me to see. At no point do we see a true motivation for these murders. That never sits well with me in a slasher.

Another negative was how the film itself ended, after the twist is revealed. There are actions taken by the remaining characters that make little to no sense, and the dialogue and acting, which were previously decent, take a nosedive. 

There’s also a bit of a lesbian tease scene that goes nowhere, which suggests some things were left on the cutting room floor, based on just how long the scene lasts.

As for the positives, there are quite few.

The acting, like I said before, is miles above what I’d expect for a slasher movie. There’s no real bad performance. And Amber Heard managed to convince me that she has no clue how attractive she really is, which is an achievement in itself. Michael Welch is also good as the best friend character. The rest of the actors, especially the ranch hand, are sort of filler, but they do well with the parts they’re given.

The movie is beautifully shot, there’s nothing bad I can say about the camera work that wouldn’t sound like nitpicking.

There’s a pretty solid story, even if it falls apart at the end. And I found the victim characters very well rounded, some were even likable. Like i said before, I loved the retro feel of the whole thing. It was very much like the horror from the 70s and 80s, and the modern touches blended well with the whole throwback vibe.

Overall, All the Boys Love Mandy Lane, is worth another watch, and I’d recommend it to my friends.

Leave a Reply

