Writing 101 Day 7: Contrasts

I tore open the box like it was a Christmas present  and took out my brand new comic. It was still in the plastic sheet. I ran inside to my roommate, letting the door swing shut on its own.

“It’s here,” I sang as I rounded the corner into the kitchen. “It’s finally here.” My roommate looked up from the sizzling pan of bacon, the aroma wafting through the house.

“What’s here?” Her response was one of genuine curiosity until she saw what was in my hands. “Oh. The comic.” she looked back down at the pan. I stared at her dumbfounded as she continued cooking.

“Didn’t you pay attention when I bought last week? This is -”

“Super-duper rare, yes, I heard it about a million times.” I ignored her interruption and walked to the stove, holding the comic under her nose.

“You know you’re jealous,” I said “You know you wish you had something worth this much.

“Well, why is it worth so much?” she shoved the comic away and concentrated on the sizzling meat.

“Duh,” I said, “It’s a misprint.”

“What, does it say ‘Subpar Man’ instead of Superman?” She mumbled something about it being an improvement.

“Nope.” I took the comic out of it’s sleeve. “See here on page 18?” I pointed until she looked. “They forgot the ‘y’ in ‘harmony'” I gave her a smug grin as she looked at the misprint, shaking her head.

“Wow,” she said, “I would’ve paid 300 bucks for that too.” She rolled her eyes and went back to the bacon.

One thought on “Writing 101 Day 7: Contrasts

Leave a Reply

