Writing 101 Day Twenty: The final day

I’d have to say my most prized possession is my laptop. It’s not so much the computer itself that makes it so prized, but the way I got it.

In 2012, I was fighting a losing battle with depression. Now, I wasn’t diagnosed, but I know the signs, and I knew enough to recognize it in myself. There were days where I didn’t leave my room, not even to eat. My anxiety, previously nonexistent, went through the roof, and I was rapidly losing weight. I knew it was a problem and I wanted to make it better.

One weekend, I went to visit my Best friend at her house. It was in December of 2012, I remember because her house was decked out in Christmas decorations. Anyway, she gave me a cupcake. I looked at the frosting and it hit me.

“I think I wanna go to pastry school.” I said, thinking out loud. that was a moment when I knew what I wanted to do. I don’t talk about it much here, but I love to bake. It’s my second love, my first, of course, is writing. I’ve always watched the competition shows where the pastry chefs make these ridiculous creations. They’ll make life-sized Scooby-Doo cakes, or amazingly crafted sugar sculptures, and my thought process was always “I would love to do that.”

I want to create huge wedding cakes that people will talk about years after the reception, I want to give a kid a birthday cake with his favorite superhero on it, crafted from fondant. I want people to think of me when they see the word “pastry”.

But I’m getting off subject, back to my laptop.

I started pastry school in January of 2013, and from the first day, I loved it. At first, I just sat in the back and took notes. But then it came time for projects. Projects that I had to do research for. I spent every day in the library before my student loan check came in. After that, I knew what I wanted immediately, a laptop.

So I sat down, on my mother’s laptop, naturally, and went to Amazon. I bought my beautiful, perfectly serviceable, Toshiba Satellite that day. I had the freedom to research projects on my own, do my homework (at home), and just goof off and play games.

It’s my fist  time really having something to myself. Being a middle child in a family of five, I’ve always had to share something, and now, I have my own  computer to customize, cover in stickers and otherwise misuse.

2013 was a turning point for me. I found what I want to do with my life, and that i actually have a talent for it (seriously, you should try my carrot cake). I made new friends at pastry school, who I love, and don’t speak to nearly as often as I should. And, most of all, I got the confidence to write this blog, and to bare my soul to you, my small amount of readers who I can never thank enough (you guys make my day.)

And I honestly don’t think I’d be in the place I am now without my lovely little laptop. This has done so much for my confidence. Again, thank you all.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 Day Twenty: The final day

Leave a Reply

