I’m back from the dead (and here’s where I went)

Well, I checked my calendar today and calculated how long it’s been since I’ve blogged. Too. Damn. Long.

Of course, I’m being imprecise for dramatic reasons. It’s been about six months. I know this because my last post was a whine-fest about my shitty Halloween. But I know the exact question on the lips of whoever still reads this crap. Where did I go? Are you ready for the answer?

After a year of making crappy decisions and being generally unhappy with my state of mind I decided a change was in order. I remembered a man I talked to in high school, a recruiter by the name of Stifler. (yes, just like in American Pie.)  I remembered how intrigued I was by the Navy, and the military in general, and how that intrigue had stayed in the back of my mind.

So, I packed up my doubts and my fears and went to the recruiting station. After I talked with my new recruiter, the doubts and fear were still there, but something else lingered on as well; relief. I waited a couple weeks and then gave him a call.

And that’s where my journey to a career I could be proud of began. I went to MEPS, took my ASVAB, got a passable score, and two weeks later I went back for my physical. And I didn’t pass. I had to do one exercise over again. This was a few weeks before Christmas, so I had a month to practice before I could go back, and practice I did. Every. Single. Day. I even had the help of my nieces. Then I went back to MEPS and passed.

Why am I going into excruciating, boring detail? Because I can. And because every week until I was sworn in as a future Sailor in the US Navy I became more and more certain of my decision. In that four weeks I called my recruiter more than few times to make sure I was still scheduled to do what I needed to do. After I passed I even quit my job and joined a gym to dedicate more time to my training.

Now I am in the process of training for, well, training, which I’m leaving for next month.

That’s right, next month I will be leaving the state of California to go to Recruit Training Command in Great Lakes, Illinois. I will be leaving my family, my friends, and my material possessions behind, which includes this blog. I’m writing about this now, after six months of silence, because it’s finally sinking in. I will be leaving home for the longest period of time I ever have. I feel elated, terrified, and I feel relieved all at the same time.

Every time I look at my ship date I get this indescribable feeling. I guess it could be described as excitement but that seems all to simple. It’s like I can finally see a path for myself that will lead me to great things, things that I’m in no way prepared for, but still somehow hoping for. I have a concrete plan for the first time in my life. In a way, I’m taking something seriously for the first time in my life.

So ask me again, where have I been? And I’ll tell you again; exactly where I was supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

